History of MCPL

Our History

Metcalfe County Public Library was organized under to WPA in 1938, and operated under their supervision until the WPA was no longer in existence.

In 1942, the Women's Club of Edmonton opened the library. Lasca Martin began serving as librarian and the Board of Education furnished a location, utilities, and janitor service.

The library moved from the basement of the Board of Education building to the Old Farmer's & Merchant Building. It remained there until 1965 when the building was sold. The library was then located in the Edmonton Hardware Store.

In 1967, the local Jaycees campaigned for a library building. Also in 1967, the library board met to discuss a need for a new building. In 1968, architect and Metcalfe County native Terry Simmons, was advised to draw plans. The contract was awarded to James N. Gray Construction Company of Glasgow, KY. In October, 1970, the building was turned over to the Board of Trustees.

On December 6, 1970, a dedication ceremony was held for the new facility. December 6 was declared "Lasca Martin Day". Lasca Martin was a devoted Librarian for 36 years, dedicating countless hours, oftentimes without pay, to ensure the public library remained open. Mrs. Martin's untiring labor in the face of discouragement paved the way for generations to come. She died August 2, 1982. Denise Minor followed as Director.

Rhonda Glass served as Director from 1983 until her retirement in October, 2020. Under her directorship, the library entered a new era with an automated library system, public access computers, & numerous digital services. A 2,400 square foot addition was added in 2003. Rhonda Glass served as Director for 37 years.

In 2021, under the directorship of Kasey Warf, the Board of Trustees announced a renovation and expansion project that included a new rear entrance and a 1,196 square foot addition. The project was completed in October, 2022.

Bookmobile History

The first bookmobile was a gift from The Courier-Journal and The Louisville Times to the state for Metcalfe County. The first bookmobile librarian was Maxine Ray. Others to date have been Ester DeVore, Mary Smith, and June Huffman.

to top